Dead Kennedys

When I found out Dead Kennedys were playing in Edinburgh I knew I had to go! They are a punk gateway band, everybody knows who they are, and most people probably even have their classic DK symbol t-shirt hidden in their drawers somewhere (I know I do.) I didn’t want to pass up on the opportunity to see one of the greatest punk rock bands live in the flesh, even if it was without Jello. So on Tuesday night I headed through to Edinburgh.

I met my friend Bethany in Spatch, a new chicken restaurant just off of the Royal Mile. I got some piri-piri chicken wings, and went a bit mad with my sides getting both their parmesan bread crumbed green beans and some chips! It was delicious! The food is dip-heavy, with my chicken coming with a blue cheese dip and the green beans with buttermilk ranch. Both of which complemented the food amazingly, i’d definitely recommend getting the green beans as a side to your meals – it was a nice switch up from chips. Bethany got the Roger Rabbit, a veggie burger, it looked HUGE! She couldn’t finish it, but she assured me that she enjoyed it.

SPATCH Chicken Edinburgh Restaurant Green Beans

Afterwards Bethany insisted that we go to Paradise Palms which is the most quirky bar that I have ever stepped foot in. There are teddies dangling from the ceiling over the bar, plants everywhere, Hawaiian shirts covering any gaps in the decor and plenty of mannequins dressed in only the finest vintage garb. It is wild. We weren’t there to try any food, but we did have some cocktails, and to our surprise we found one dedicated to our hometown – the Buckfast Daiquiri. Yep, you read that right. With a mention of our hometown in the description we needed to try it, and let me tell you, it is far too nice to taste like anything that would ever come out of Cumbernauld. I definitely see myself returning here.

Buckfast Daiquiri Paradise Palms Cocktails Edinburgh

Eventually it was time to head to the venue. Dead Kennedys were great. Although I forgot how absolutely annoying dad punks are, but that is an issue/rant for another blog post. Regardless, the setlist was incredible, they played everything you would have wanted to hear from Fresh Fruit for Rotting Vegetables. Bouncing along to the sound of Chemical Warfare, California Uber Alles, and Holiday in Cambodia was pretty surreal. Although, I was a little bit disappointed that they didn’t link Kill the Poor up with a wee chat about the horrors of the Grenfell Tower fire that happened just days before; or even Nazi Punks Fuck Off with the terror attack on a mosque in London that happened that day! Despite their seeming lack of interest in British current events,  I am so thrilled that I got to see this band live, because I never really expected that I would. Fourteen year old me would be so impressed by myself!

Dead Kennedys Live Edinburgh Liquid Rooms Punk Punx

I had such a nice time through in Edinburgh, and it was phenomenal to actually see Dead Kennedys playing live. But before I end this blog post I just need to give a shout out to the holier than thou lady on the Royal Mile who asked Bethany where she got her Metallica top, and scoffed when she said H&M. Your awful attitude was the funniest part of the night!

Till next time Edinburgh!

Twitter | Instagram | Bloglovin

Scott Monument Edinburgh Sunset

One thought on “Dead Kennedys

  1. Loved this piece. I’m a writer/content creator/founder at Alternative Music blog based in India but I generally focus on Alt music from around the world. I’m fairly new and would love some support. This is my latest review of a song by Carseat Headrest – https://theindianindiehead.wordpress.com/2017/06/22/that-one-song-by-that-one-band/?preview=true
    Also, do go ahead and go through the rest of my blog and rate my content. Thank you 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

