E.L.F Mascara First Impressions Review

Elf have always been a brand that had never quite reached my radar. I had been aware of their existence, but I (still) don’t know much about their products. Despite this, when I found out the brand had launched in Superdrug stores around the UK I rushed to my nearest store. Knowing they are a cruelty free brand, I seized this as an opportunity to buy myself some new Mascara. I have been fairly desperate to find a cruelty free mascara from the drugstore that I like! I haven’t tried many, just NYX (which I absolutely hated), so i got quite excited about trying something new!

I’m considering this as a first impressions review, because as I write this, I have only worn this mascara three times. I don’t really have high ambitions for my mascara, so I usually know almost immediately whether it is something I would buy again or not. Basically, i just want my mascara to turn my lashes black. If I could get away with it, I probably wouldn’t wear any! I want something will create quite a natural look and feel light and easy to wear throughout the day. With this in mind I decided to pick up their waterproof mascara because the temperatures here have been rising, so I needed something that would survive through even the sweatiest of shifts in my work.

Initially, I wasn’t really impressed by the packaging. It just didn’t sell the product to me, it looks cheap and wasn’t promising. When I first looked at it, I immediately thought “this is going to be awful.” It is a basic matte black plastic-y looking mascara tube with the brand name printed on. I had a conversation with my friend about it and we both agreed that it looked like something from our favourite childhood brand Internacionale (does anyone remember that shop?) I also found the wand handle to be incredibly long. I personally would have preferred if it was a little bit shorter to balance the weight of the brush a little better.  The brush is also quite basic looking, but that is no fault as it performs its job.

The formula is waterproof and claims to “achieve thick, full and long looking lashes.” The formula definitely lengthens lashes, and as you can see in the images above, it definitely thickens lashes too! I noticed the product was a little bit sticky until it has dried – after a couple of seconds of cuddling with my dog my eyelashes had stuck together! Realistically though, that is an easy fix. Most people aren’t daft enough to rub their face into their dogs coat immediately after putting on their make up! By the end of the day the mascara seemed to stay in place even through both sweaty gigs, and sweaty shifts. Despite the hard wearing formula, I didn’t find it difficult to remove using Simple Micellar Water.

Overall, I definitely do like this mascara. It looks very natural and that is what I like. It is a little bit sticky, but the mascara doesn’t clump as you layer it on. It also doesn’t budge throughout the day or flake into your eyes. I have worn this during two very busy, and sweaty weekend shifts in my work and also to a gig and it has managed to hold up nicely. While I wouldn’t consider it to be the best mascara that I have ever used. For the price I definitely think it is worth it. I’m still on the look out for a better drug store mascara, but this is my favourite that I’ve tried so far. If you have any recommendations about what I should try next, let me know!

Twitter | Instagram | Bloglovin

2 thoughts on “E.L.F Mascara First Impressions Review

    1. Funnily enough the brushes are the first thing that was mentioned to me when I said I bought the mascara! I might need to go back and see if they stock any!

      Like

Leave a Reply

