Caring for Your Bushes

I was recently asked if I could write a blog post on make-up brushes, and after a lot of consideration, I decided that the easiest thing for me to write about was my care routine for them. I would love to write about my favourite brushes and make a bunch of helpful recommendations, but truth be told, I don’t have a large brush collection. The vast majority of my brushes are from the Sigma Make Me Crazy Essential Kit. I have had this set of brushes for about 2 years now. This is because quality brushes coupled with an adequate care routine, should encourage the brushes to last longer. On top of this, Sigma offer a 2 year guarantee on their brushes, so if you do have any issues the product can be easily replaced!
Moving back to the point of this blog post, I think it goes without saying that make-up brushes need to be cleaned. I find myself thoroughly cleaning my whole set at least on my bi-monthly basis. With that said, I don’t use many of my brushes on a daily basis. If you find yourself wearing a full face regularly, you are going to want wash all of your brushes more frequently than I do.

There are a multitude of methods that can be used to keep your brushes clean. Recently I have been using the Real Techniques brush gel paired with their cleaning mat. You simply need to drop a dollop of the real techniques gel onto the brush, swirl it around on the mat and give it a rinse under water to ensure that all of the product is out. Alternatively, you could switch the gel for baby shampoo, i’ve yet to test this method, even though it does seem to be the most popular method to clean your brushes with. As baby shampoo is so soft it is supposed to be ideal for cleansing your brushes and maintaining their soft texture.

Between thorough cleanses I like to to use spray cleansers on the brushes that I use more frequently. I have tried two of these. One from Superdrug’s own range B, and the other from Primark – both of which are cruelty free! All that is needed for this method is a quick spray and to give the brush a swirl around on some tissue, and they should be should be clean enough to last another week or so. I tend to use this mostly on my lip  brushes (I clean these after every use) and on my foundation brushes which should be done at least every two weeks. Using both of these techniques together should be enough to keep your brushes clean, and help them last long into the future. However there are a few other tips that you should bare in mind when cleaning your brushes.

General tips for cleaning your brushes

  • Don’t submerge your brushes fully in the water. This can damage glue that holds the bristles together.
  • Use hot water as it kills more bacteria.
  • In an effort to keep the glue strong, I would either keep my brushes  flat while drying, or if possible, suspend them with the bristles to  the bottom (you can do this using a brush holder for traveling).
  • While washing, squeeze the brushes, this is the most efficient way to see if the brushes are clean.

Twitter | Instagram | Bloglovin

Leave a Reply

