Candida Diaries: The Last 8 Months

It has been a long five months since I last contributed to this mini series. I was one month in to a 6 month long period of taking flucozonal treatment on a weekly basis. This felt like it was going to be a groundbreaking step forward with this recurrent illness. I was hoping that it was the magical cure that I had been waiting for – It was going to eradicate every nuisance effect of thrush that was left in my body. For the duration of the treatment I would say I was pretty happy with how things were going. No unwanted itching, no swelling – no gross effects of thrush. Despite telling myself that once these six months were over with, all of my previous discomfort would be a weight lifted from my shoulders, that just wasn’t the  case. During the last few months of my treatment, the symptoms returned- albeit subdued. I decided that when my treatment finished, I would give myself a few months to settle down before returning to the doctor.

So where am I now? It’s been a few months since my treatment finished. I returned to my GP about two weeks ago before I went on my travels for the rest of the month. I need to get more tests done and then they intend to send me back to the gynecologist. I can see that I have made progress, but it is taking so long for me to get to where I want to be and that gets tiring when you feel as if doctors don’t take you seriously. I also don’t want to take “there is nothing we can do for you” as an answer. Here’s to another month of appointments and tests in hopes of a different outcome.

Twitter  | Instagram | Bloglovin

Leave a Reply

