Two Years!

There were multiple instances at the beginning of our relationship that we could have considered as our coming together as an “”official”” couple. It could have been the first time we referred to each other as boy/girlfriend, the first time we said “I love you” or the night that we were sat together and Brad fumbled his way through a big long speech to ask if I wanted to be in a relationship with him. But we’ve settled on a moment that occurred between all of that. It was the day we first met. For the entire duration of the time we talked online Brad and I knew we were a couple, but we didn’t want to commit to the idea in fear that either of us were actually sat talking to a fat old man with some high tech gadgets every night of the week. Anything was possible. After all, we met online. Now two whole years have passed, we have met countless times and shared lots of cuddles, kisses and we have created amazing memories.

But, this isn’t why I really felt motivated to make this blog post. Honestly, until a couple of hours ago I wasn’t intending on making a post about our anniversary at all. But here I am. Writing this post 3 whole days in advance. It is the day following the Orlando shooting and I have been flooded by a feeling of gratefulness. As a straight, white human I am surrounded by privilege. To be entirely honest, it is a privilege that I don’t even acknowledge for the best part. There are so many little things about our relationship that I take for granted, from holding hands in public to simply kissing my partner. As a cishet person, I have nothing to fear. My friends and family wont disown me for who I love, I wont get shouted at while walking down the street, and most of all, I don’t have to fear homophobic terror acts. The shootings really opened my eyes to the extent of western homophobia, it’s not just petty name calling and people hiding behind computer screens posting comments on facebook.  It was idealistic for me to think that. Some people have a real violent hatred towards this community, and I think that as an outsider it can be difficult to fully grasp the extent of this. I don’t think that the struggles of the LGBT+ community are something that I will ever fully understand as a cishet person, but they are instances that I can show compassion towards.  It is so important to show solidarity with the gay community, and at this moment in time, especially Muslims within that body. I hope this acts as the wake up call that all western straight people needed and I hope it acts as a catalyst for change. We all know that the LGBT+ community gets shit done! image

Instagram | Twitter | Bloglovin

2 thoughts on “Two Years!

Leave a Reply

